Academic Calendar

2014 - 2015

FALL SEMESTER (TERM 141)

Aug 8 Fri Deadline for financial arrangements with Student Financial Services
Aug 14-17 Thur-Sun Freshman orientation
Aug 15 Fri Freshman orientation
Aug 17 Sun Upperclassmen return/New students register
Aug 18 Mon Classes begin
Aug 21 Thur Opening Convocation
Aug 22 Fri Last day to make course changes (add/drop period) / Last day to register independent/directed study projects for Fall Term
Sep 1 Mon Labor Day - No classes
Oct 9 Thur End of mid-term period
Oct 10 Fri No classes
Oct 13 Mon Classes resume
Oct 14 Tue Mid-term grades due by 10:00 AM
Oct 29 Wed Last day for declaration of pass/not pass option for eligible courses / Last day for course withdrawals
Nov 3 Mon Early Registration for Spring Term (142) opens
Nov 21 Fri Thanksgiving recess begins after the last class
Dec 1 Mon Classes resume.
Dec 8 Mon Exam week begins
Dec 11 Thur Exam week ends / Last day of Fall Term
Dec 16 Tue Final grades due by 10:00 AM
Dec 19 Fri Final grades and degree audits available online by this date

WINTERIM (TERM 14W)

Dec 15 Mon Classes begin
Dec 17 Wed Last Day to make course changes (add/drop period) / Last day to register for independent/directed study projects
Dec 24-26   Christmas Break – no classes
Jan 1 Thur New Year’s Day – no classes
Jan 9 Fri Last day of Winterim Term
Jan 30 Fri Final grades due by 10:00AM for Winterim Term (14W )

SPRING SEMESTER (TERM 142)

Dec 10 Wed Deadline for final arrangements with Student Financial Services
Jan 11 Sun Students return/New students register
Jan 12 Mon Classes begin
Jan 15 Thur Deadline for removal of "I" grades & petition for grade changes for Fall Term (141)
Jan 16 Fri Last day to make course changes (add/drop period)
Last day to register for independent/directed study projects for Spring Term
Mar 6 Fri End of mid-term period
Spring break begins after last class
Mar 10 Tue Mid-term grades due by 10:00 AM
Mar 16 Mon Classes resume
Apr 1 Wed Last day for declaration of pass/not pass option for eligible courses
Last day for course withdrawals
Apr 3 Fri Good Friday - no classes
Apr 6 Mon Easter Monday - no classes
Apr 7 Tue Early Registration for Summer I Term (143) and Fall Term (151) opens
May 4 Mon Exam week begins
May 7 Thur Exam week ends
Last day of Spring Term (142)
May 8 Fri Graduating student grades due by 8:00 AM
May 9 Sat Commencement
May 12 Tue Final grades for underclassmen due by 10:00 AM
May 15 Fri Final grades and degree audits available online by this date
Jun 11 Thur Deadline for removal of "I" grades & petition for grade changes for Spring Term (142)

SUMMER I SESSION (TERM 143)

May 18 Mon Late Enrollment & registration in Registrar's Office
May 18 Mon Classes begin (5 week session & 8 week session)
May 20 Wed Final day to enroll & register for Summer I term (143)
May 20 Wed Last day to make course changes (add/drop period)
May 25 Mon Memorial Day - no classes
May 28 Thur Last day for course withdrawals (5 week session)
Jun 4 Thur Last day for course withdrawals (8 week session)
Jun 19 Fri Last day of Summer I 5 week session
Jul 3 Fri Independence Day Observance - no classes
Jul 10 Fri Last day of Summer I 8 week session
Jul 14 Tue Final grades due by 10:00 AM (5 & 8 week session)
Jul 17 Fri Final grades and degree audits available on line by this date
Aug 14 Fri Deadline for removal of "I" grades & petition for grade change for Summer I session (5 & 8 week session)

SUMMER II SESSION (TERM 144)

Jun 29-30 Mon-Tue Placement examinations (MA students)
Jul 1 Wed Check-in and registration for all students; advising of new students
Jul 2 Thur Classes begin
Jul 7 Tues Last day to make course changes (add/drop)
Jul 10 Fri Last day for course withdrawals for Summer II term
Jul 31 Fri Last day of Summer II session
Jul 31 Fri Summer commencement
Aug 3 Mon Final grades due by 10:00 AM
Sept 4 Fri Deadline for removal of "I" grades and petition for grade changes for Summer II session

Events Calendar

News More news

Explore the Core
close
  • Start Your Major Freshman Year

    Like Elementary Education major Brittany Cooper ’12, you start your major as soon as you walk in the door, so you will have four years of knowledge and experience in your field.You can even change your mind about your major and still graduate on time with lots of experience.

    Core and the major work in harmony to develop the cognitive skills requisite for success in a competitive, global society. Students better understand the forces that shape the future by exploring the past. They discuss contemporary events; analyze the impact of science on our understanding of humanity and the universe; and investigate diverse cultures and world civilizations. 

  • Mentorship

    Small colleges offer you personal attention; SJC professors, such as Communication Professors Fred and Sally Berger, do more for you—they serve as mentors. Studies show that having a mentor leads to success in your field. Alumni often tell us how their professors not only played a major role in their success, but also became lifelong friends.  If you are undecided about what to major in, we help you decide.

  • High Quality Academics

    In the Core Program, you will be inspired to debate, analyze, and solve problems. Discussion of culture and society, the modern world, and Christian Humanism are just a few highlights of the Program. New perspectives will be gained, your worldview will expand, and you will graduate from SJC as a well rounded, highly marketable person.

  • Leadership

    You get more deeply involved at SJC, so you get more meaningful experiences that prepare you for career and life. LaMichelle Sanders ’14, for example, has spent two summers helping Chinese study abroad students adapt to life in the U.S. and at SJC. If you want to start a club or activity that doesn’t exist, we encourage you to start one. At SJC, prepare yourself for what you want to do in life.

  • Real-life Skills

    Because of the skills you develop by having the Core Program interact with your major for four years in addition to internships, job shadowing, and service learning, you get hands-on experience in preparation for your career or graduate school. Students Hanna Kane ’14, Emily Baird ’15, and Alyssa Guarnaccia ’14 collect food in the SJC hoophouse to be distributed on campus. You will also get four years of analytical, writing, and speaking skills that will serve you well for the rest of your life.

  • Start Your Major Freshman Year

    Get a jump start on your career and have your resume ready to go at graduation.  

  • Mentorship

    Small colleges offer you personal attention; SJC professors do more for you—they serve as mentors.

  • High Quality Academics

    The Core Program is all about you and your role in the world.

     

  • Leadership

    You get more deeply involved at SJC, so you get more meaningful experiences that prepare you for career and life.

  • Real-life Skills

    Get real-life experience and become an excellent communicator.